Posted 20 hours ago

Be Careful What You Wish For (The Clifton Chronicles) (The Clifton Chronicles, 4)

ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
Joined in 2023

About this deal

He has been married to Dame Mary Archer, Chair of the Science Museum Group, for 55 year, and they have two sons, two granddaughters and three grandsons. Archer also continues to present an unremarkable prose, but one cannot take away from him his ability to surprise the reader over and over. No family saga would be complete without a villain, and this book has a good one, a well-drawn and believable character whose motivations are understandable. In the least, the author has a lot to do in the last installation of the Chronicles to infuse some sort of relevancy in the series. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Without such a glue, the tale could at best be used to show some sort of philosophical meaninglessness of life, where events that appear extremely important in real time turn at best into mildly interesting historic facts later. Back in London, Harry and Emma's adopted daughter wins a scholarship to the Slade Academy of Art where she falls in love with a fellow student, Clive Bingham, who asks her to marry him. I did enjoy getting to uncover some of the answers to questions I had about the previous books and finding the threads that tied the other books together. I'm so disappointed with this book that it's heartbreaking for me, especially since Jeffrey Archer is one of my favourite authors.She might not have agreed to take his place if she’d realized that he would be back in England the following day. Set in England and spanning the years 1957-1964 we follow the Clifton-Barrington family saga in their face off with Don Pedro Martinez, a smuggler who became a staunch enemy in the preceding book and is hell-bent to destroying them. I love my books and read different authors for different reasons and Jeffrey Archer is, to me anyway, an exhilarating story teller that leaves you wanting more. The Clifton Chronicles, a series of seven novels published between 2011-2017, topped the bestseller lists around the world.

With its short, cliff hanger ending, chapters, I found myself reading late into the night and at every opportunity during the day to find out what happens next. And as we have seen he ends the book with a cliff hanger so you will have to read Mightier Than the Sword to find out what happens. The IRA, finding out that he intended to short them the bounty fee, holds him at gunpoint at the novel’s cliffhanger ending. Once I was able to give this book my attention it took barely a day to finish - which is a credit to the authors writing style and the pace that he sets in the book.You can change your choices at any time by visiting Cookie preferences, as described in the Cookie notice. Continuing with the fourth installment of Clifton Chronicles, this takes the reader through the lives of the Barrington and Clifton families. As to be expected from a master storyteller, the books are incredibly well written with just the right amount of detail, just the right amount of suspense all served up with well written, flowing prose. Jeffrey Archer, whom I remember as "the storyteller in the class of Dumas" from one of his early blurbs, is still going strong. The good news is that all seven of the Clifton Chronicles are now published so you won't have to wait for a year to discover how the cliffhanger is resolved.

Be Careful What You Wish For showcases the master storyteller's talent as never before - when the Clifton and Barrington families march forward into the sixties, in this epic tale of love, revenge, ambition and betrayal. Martinez will never get over the death of his son despite the fact it is his own fault and seeks revenge against any and all Barrington’s.Owen and the mortician were not surprised by this predictable reaction of a mother at the first sight of her dead son, but they were shocked when she said quietly, “That’s not Sebastian. maybe branching out and writing about various events in the life of the next generation had diluted the story.

And those who have not read the previous volumes I suggest reading the thriller volumes first as you won't be able to understand the story if won't read them first. The books in this series all follow a sort of pattern, and I just knew that this of course would end with another cliffhanger where you don't know who in the Clifton / Barrington families will or will not survive.He knew he wouldn’t be able to sleep until he’d seen his son for the last time, and he suspected not for some considerable time after that: the adrenaline of despair.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment