276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Last to Vanish: Megan Miranda

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

This eerie thriller…can stand next to Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House and Stephen King’s The Shining. Told solely from Abby’s perspective and focusing on themes of truth, myth, reality, and the surprising convergence of all three, The Last to Vanish brilliantly explores the lengths people will go to to hide their secrets—and not just from each other, either.

The Last to Vanish | Book by Megan Miranda | Official

And she was the central character in If It Bleeds, a novella in the 2020 collection of the same name. It plays a central role in the plot and the characters, as it adds a layer of deceitfulness and distrust that permeates the town.Megan Miranda is the New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls, The Perfect Stranger, The Last House Guest, which was a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick, The Girl from Widow Hills, Such a Quiet Place, The Last to Vanish, and The Only Survivors. MY THOUGHTS: I would recommend this novel to those who don’t mind a bit of a slower start and enjoy a great mystery.

The Last to Vanish by Megan Miranda | Goodreads The Last to Vanish by Megan Miranda | Goodreads

What I enjoy the most is the superb atmospheric setting which positively oozes from the pages feeling like a character in its own right. Protagonist Abby, works at an inn at the base of the mountains that has connections with several of the missing hikers. Abby sometimes feels like an outsider within the community, but she’s come to view Cutter’s Pass as her home. The main character, Abbie even though she was a young adult , makes the most stunning decisions, some of them so dumb it left me shaking my head.

Ten years ago, Abigail Lovett fell into a job she loves, managing The Passage Inn, a cozy, upscale resort nestled in the North Carolina mountain town of Cutter's Pass. There was also a plethora of characters who also wind up at that same dead end and then seem to "disappear, with no explanation for the why once again.

The Last to Vanish: From the New York Times bestselling

Highly recommended for fans of Alafair Burke, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Lutz, and for all readers who like their female characters clever and resourceful, even when their best friends become their worst nightmares. Fans of Gillian Flynn, Chevy Stevens, and Jennifer McMahon will devour this relentlessly paced and deftly plotted thriller. When Landon West, a journalist, comes to town, the turmoil existing on a low level begins to churn and the why of the disappearances comes to the surface. Author Megan Miranda skillfully paces the story of missing hikers in a North Carolina mountain area known as Cutter’s Pass.What didn't work so much for me was how disjointed the storyline was, in the end I could see what the author was trying to accomplish, but the exposition of the story was overall too slow to keep me really interested. Abby Lovell has lived in the town for 10 years and feels like she will never be an insider in this small town. Abby found out because Alice’s sister sent her a picture of Alice and Harris and some other friends. Welcome to Cutter's Pass where no one knows anything and people act weird and probably guilty of something.

The Last to Vanish by Megan Miranda - Publishers Weekly The Last to Vanish by Megan Miranda - Publishers Weekly

Cutter's Pass is best known for its outdoor offerings—rafting and hiking, with access to the Appalachian trail by way of a gorgeous waterfall—and its mysterious history. Hiking is a hobby I like to do alone with concerned family and friends giving out warnings not to do it.There was a Stephen King-like tension throughout, with a few hair raising scares thrown in for good measure. A tasty, if not always tasteful, tale of supernatural mayhem that fans of King and Crichton alike will enjoy. King uses the phrase keeping it on the down-low in a way that suggests he probably doesn’t understand how this phrase is currently used—and has been used for quite a while.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment