276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Witching Tide: The powerful and gripping debut novel for readers of Margaret Atwood and Hilary Mantel

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

We’re a platform for in-depth discussions of contemporary literature, society and culture, featuring established and emerging reviewers from the South Pacific. To read this book is to step inside time, to feel the bite of the sea air, to walk in the grime alongside Martha as she fights the tide of unspeakable cruelty and suspicion. With diamond-cut prose, Meyer makes 17th century witch hunts feel vivid, new, and highly relevant to the current moment. A timely, visceral novel that hurls the reader into a claustrophobic rural community riddled with suspicion, fear and recrimination.

The Witching Tide | Goldsboro Books The Witching Tide | Goldsboro Books

Martha Hallybread, a midwife, healer, and servant, has lived peacefully for more than four decades in her beloved coastal village of Cleftwater. Margaret Meyer expertly creates an atmosphere of creeping dread, where no one is safe, and women find themselves punished for their own misfortunes and those of their erstwhile friends and neighbours. A spellbinding and intoxicating novel inspired by true events, The Witching Tide breathes new life into history whilst holding up a mirror to the world we live in now.

The Witching Tide takes place during the mid-17th century in a small seaside town in England at the height of the witch hunts.

The Witching Tide by Margaret Meyer: Haunting, harrowing and

She turned it upside down and repeated the process, holding the doll’s head to the heat until the wax was doughy. The town thinks itself insulated from the darkness sweeping England, until the witch hunter arrives and begins arresting women all thought innocent of evil. The things I loved about this book are what kept me reading because honestly, this was a very difficult story to get through and it really pissed me off. It’s not an easy book to read, especially the ability to quickly turn on a neighbor, the walking torture of the supposed witches.

Even though she has written fiction, Margaret's story is underpinned by facts - true stories of real people. Martha has been unable to speak since she was a child, and she thinks of it as a worm that blocks her words from coming out. Based on records of an actual period of witch hunts in East Anglia during the years of the English civil war, Meyer’s saga of prejudicial ignorance and the horrors that result from innuendo campaigns is replete with period and chilling atmospheric detail. Initially because of the fact that the women victims weren’t named, but everybody else was: the jailer, the judge, the juryman, the woman who ran the pub opposite Moot Hall, the guy who made the nooses.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment